Author Topic: problem entering lat/long  (Read 5626 times)

Pommy Stuart

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3410
  • A closed mouth gathers no foot.
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #15 on: June 17, 2014, 08:37:53 am »
Stranger and Stranger said Alice Stuart.

I will just have to enter in Firefox and edit in another.   ???

Caro

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7367
  • Our end is Life. Put out to sea. Louis MacNeice
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #16 on: June 17, 2014, 08:56:35 am »
I hope it sorts itself out, Stuart.
It's good that you can edit in another browser for the time being.  :)

Pommy Stuart

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3410
  • A closed mouth gathers no foot.
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #17 on: June 18, 2014, 10:32:46 pm »
Still problems.
When just viewing the pages I get.
Same page one in IE (can see all pages) the other in Firefox 30 (can only see from 095 onwards).
Pages shown 040 and 095

Editing still not working back past the 27 Feb 1898 in Firefox.
27th
http://www.oldweather.org/transcriptions/539d32ee89e4e15a090271de/edit  (can edit)
26th
http://www.oldweather.org/transcriptions/539cee4b89e4e15a09024ccd/edit (Cannot see log page)

Can edit all pages in IE. I don't edit often I just check things occasionally


Please pass this up as either I need help with my browser or there is a glitch somewhere they need to know about.

Thanks.

Randi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12069
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #18 on: June 18, 2014, 10:40:32 pm »
I have been entering and editing today with no problems.
Windows 7 + Firefox 30.0

Pommy Stuart

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3410
  • A closed mouth gathers no foot.
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #19 on: June 18, 2014, 10:50:12 pm »
I am looking for (polite) suggestions as to what MY problem could be.
I can edit back to 4 days ago and then half way through the pages I did 4 days ago it stops letting me edit.

That seems to be a strange problem for just the browser if it cannot find the OW page.   ???
« Last Edit: June 18, 2014, 11:08:03 pm by Pommy Stuart »

Janet Jaguar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9655
  • Smell the sea, feel the sky, & fly into the mystic
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #20 on: June 18, 2014, 11:45:57 pm »
OK, make me number 2 with squirrely edit problems with Concord.  I went in to edit some of my older Patterson pages with no trouble at all.

I then did a new page in Concord, finished and opened it for edit.  Not at all the total blankness you get, but definitely a problem.  First line I edited, no apparent problem. Second line I edited I though was OK, but then saw it was stuck further down the page.  Moving it back up showed my the stuck portion of noon readings, not the weather readings it was again parked over. And then the OK button would not work on both first and second lines, I had to 'close' instead.  And then the finish button didn't work.  I finally used the browser back arrow to get out of the page.  When I went back in, the first line edit had taken.  The second line edit had not.  I re-edited the second line and finished the page successfully.  Then went back in to double check - the second line's edit had stuck, the first line's had not taken.  I changed it again, and finished the page again.  This time both changes took fine.  It's like I can make exactly one edit and have to then finish the page to make it work, editing a second box messes everything up.

I was using Foxfire 29.0 Windows 7 laptop.

I can't make any suggestion, polite or not.  I do not understand this.  I'm sending for help.

Pommy Stuart

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3410
  • A closed mouth gathers no foot.
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #21 on: June 19, 2014, 12:37:12 am »
Love you Janet, I thought it was just me.  :-*

Janet Jaguar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9655
  • Smell the sea, feel the sky, & fly into the mystic
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #22 on: June 19, 2014, 01:37:11 am »
Stuart, I just did 2 pages of Albatross 1884 and then went back for multiple edits.  Absolutely no problems at all.  Editing, weather and comments went perfectly.

Please do us a major favor in problem solving and try transcribing/editing any other ship than Concord.  We need to know if it is ship specific or appearing irregularly elsewhere.

Pommy Stuart

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3410
  • A closed mouth gathers no foot.
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #23 on: June 19, 2014, 02:43:39 am »
Albatross 1900 OK until my entries about a months ago (real time), then entry boxes in grey and editable but No log page picture. (same as Concord)

Bear OK
Corwin OK
Pioneer OK


Concord OK up until about 4 days ago real time (27 Feb 1898) then the problem occurs about half way through the day 4 days until now.

Janet Jaguar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9655
  • Smell the sea, feel the sky, & fly into the mystic
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #24 on: June 19, 2014, 03:07:51 am »
Totally beyond me.  We will wait for help, while using different browsers for editing.  :(

Anyone else, please give feedback on Firefox editing.

mapurves

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1822
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #25 on: June 19, 2014, 03:46:23 am »
Totally beyond me.  We will wait for help, while using different browsers for editing.  :(

Anyone else, please give feedback on Firefox editing.

I've been in meetings all day, lucky me, but after my meetings today and before attacking minutes and reports and etc etc. I did edit a page I entered yesterday. The page I just edited was for USS Concord, 29 Dec 1897.

Misc. Events concord 29 Dec 1897

I had no problems editing the data. (I didn't have time yesterday to complete the page - lots of crew coming and going, so I finished it this evening.) This page, though, is a couple of months behind the ones giving Stuart problems: I don't know if that's significant. I'm using Windows 8.1 Firefox 29.0.1. Back to minutes of meetings, hopefully back to OW tomorrow...

Michael

mapurves

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1822
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #26 on: June 19, 2014, 03:55:30 am »
Silly me. That page I just mentioned was for 28 Dec, not 29 Dec. After my previous post, I logged out of Old Weather and shut down Firefox. When I restarted Firefox (I forgot to email minutes before shutting Firefox down), low and behold Firefox updated itself to 30.0. So, just for you, I went back to OW in order to try my page from 28 Dec. I was able to edit it normally. Sorry, I wish I had something more helpful for you.

Stuart, did you smack your PC on the side of its head? Or, being the Navy, give it the lash with the cat 'o nine tails?

Michael

Pommy Stuart

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3410
  • A closed mouth gathers no foot.
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #27 on: June 19, 2014, 04:12:02 am »
Maybe it was the ration of Rum that I spilt on it.  (Just Joking)
I can edit back only so far then it goes crook on me.

Maikel

  • Editor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2334
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #28 on: June 19, 2014, 07:39:44 am »
Have you perhaps installed, or recently updated, an add-on in Firefox that is causing troubles?

Maybe try to transcribe in Firefox Save Mode?

Janet Jaguar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9655
  • Smell the sea, feel the sky, & fly into the mystic
    • View Profile
Re: problem entering lat/long
« Reply #29 on: June 19, 2014, 08:13:41 am »
Now, that link told me to start with "Reset Firefox to its default state" and that tripped over a problem.  I got
Well, this is embarrassing.
Firefox is having trouble recovering your windows and tabs. This is usually caused by a recently opened web page.
You can try:
    Removing one or more tabs that you think may be causing the problem
    Starting an entirely new browsing session

I told it to restore everything but MyOldWeather.

I then opened easily.  I went back into the Concord page that would not edit and this time I could edit anything I wanted very smoothly.

Thank you, Maikel.  Stuart, try it - it was quite simple.