Author Topic: Ahoy! Newbie via NOAA!  (Read 2255 times)

prattm

• View Profile
Ahoy! Newbie via NOAA!
« on: April 02, 2015, 07:09:26 pm »
Hi all!

Kevin Wood of NOAA recommended that I come and check in here. I'm doing my senior thesis on the USRCS and USPHS and their interactions with natives and the environment. I've been an intern with the US Coast Guard Museum for 2 years, and last summer I was the seasonal curator of a small Coast Guard museum in New England.

I'm looking at the UNALGA right now but I'm looking to expand my knowledge more, especially with the PHS and the environmental impact the USRCS had.

Thanks all!

Randi

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Ahoy! Newbie via NOAA!
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2015, 07:24:37 pm »
Welcome on board!

You might take a look at American: Health, Hygiene, Medicine, and Surgery, but I fear it will not be too helpful.

For Unalga, see Unalga I -- Discussion: Questions and Comments
« Last Edit: April 02, 2015, 07:37:39 pm by Randi »

AvastMH

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2015, 08:13:00 pm »
Hello prattm,
Good luck with your studies!
I'm on the Patterson and I don't recall much health/native stuff there.  :-\  Main problem is a short term lack of nutrition - i.e. crew ending up in the brig on bread and water for a couple of days after winding up the officers. I bet a lot of other OW-ers will know useful stuff though.   :)
Best wishes,
Joan
« Last Edit: April 02, 2015, 09:40:27 pm by AvastMH »

jil

• Editor
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2015, 08:39:49 pm »
Hello!
Have a look at USRCS Bear. Some of the logs are on-line or see the discussion topic.