Author Topic: Shipopoly  (Read 43995 times)

Janet Jaguar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10205
  • Smell the sea, feel the sky, & fly into the mystic
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #30 on: November 21, 2015, 09:34:21 pm »
So far, nobody has agreed to be the 4th player - but without a 4th player, we can't start another game!
Anybody wanna join? Pretty please?

According to the rules The game is limited to a maximum of four captains.

So, why not play with three?

My brother and his best friend used to play original Monopoly with just two - and they'd set it up on our back porch and buy wads of extra pretend money because those games were very intense, lasted several days.  Certainly that game works well with two or three players.

Hanibal94

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4333
  • Better to do it, than live with the fear of it.
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #31 on: November 21, 2015, 11:32:49 pm »
And if there is money in the Crow's nest it returns to the directly to the bank?  :)

Yes, that would be the case.
So, shall we start a new game, Joan and leelaht?

Hanibal94

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4333
  • Better to do it, than live with the fear of it.
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #32 on: November 22, 2015, 12:41:39 am »
ok.  Do we roll one dice to see who goes first?

I thought we would just follow the old system of rounds, where the particular order doesn't matter?

Hanibal94

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4333
  • Better to do it, than live with the fear of it.
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #33 on: November 22, 2015, 09:17:30 am »
Oh wow - we're playing already!
Program has been set up, here goes:

Result of the dice: 1 + 1 = 2
You got a double!
You landed on Chest (South) and got card No. 3
Pick up several hundred survivors from a sinking ship.Collect 200 $ Prize Money from the Bank.
You are on Chest (South) at the end of your turn

Result of the dice: 3 + 4 = 7
You landed on San Fernando


Buy that.
Oh, and sorry leelaht, but Joan already has the lighthouse, so you can't have it unless she gives it up and takes something else.

AvastMH

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7048
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #34 on: November 22, 2015, 11:45:48 am »
Hi Leelaht - you can have the lighthouse - I'll be the dog this time around :)

My go ....  where's that rng...ah there... 5+1 = Manila - I'd like to buy that please :)

And I might as well start the next round so....

6+3 I move to Base Ship Tamar - and I'd like to buy that too :)
« Last Edit: November 22, 2015, 11:48:35 am by AvastMH »

Hanibal94

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4333
  • Better to do it, than live with the fear of it.
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #35 on: November 22, 2015, 12:21:55 pm »
Hi Leelaht - you can have the lighthouse - I'll be the dog this time around :)

Alright, it's done.
My turn:

Result of the dice: 1 + 2 = 3
You landed on Donkey Boilers


Why do I still think of boiled donkeys every time I land here?

AvastMH

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7048
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #36 on: November 22, 2015, 12:25:21 pm »
I don't know - does it remind you of some boiled donkeys from your youth?  :o  I do hope that I am wrong!  ;D  I mean I hope no-one boils donkeys!  :o  And that you never met one  ::)
Time to shut up I think   ;) :D :-X

Hanibal94

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4333
  • Better to do it, than live with the fear of it.
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #37 on: November 23, 2015, 04:56:12 pm »
Result of the dice: 1 + 5 = 6
You landed on Hong Kong


Regarding the Donkey Boilers - I would say it is the result of being literal-minded by default.
I also used to have a hard time understanding expressions, such as "swear on the good book".
The mental image I got from that was "Sit on The Cat in the Hat and say every bad word you know".

Good thing I never actually did that!

AvastMH

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7048
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #38 on: November 23, 2015, 07:28:03 pm »
You would have upset a lot of librarians by sitting on books  :D

must be my go by now...

5 + 4 = 9 so I go to.... oh - what! We hardly own anything and I'm paying rent already - enjoy the income leelaht  :D

And off we go again...

4 + 4 = 8 so that's..you're kidding?  ;D We hardly own anything and I'm paying rent already - enjoy the income leelaht  :D

and that was a double so... 2 + 4 Ship's Refit - I'll buy that! Oh - okay - I'll pay that!  ::)
« Last Edit: November 23, 2015, 07:32:39 pm by AvastMH »

Hanibal94

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4333
  • Better to do it, than live with the fear of it.
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #39 on: November 24, 2015, 06:06:58 pm »
OK then, here goes.

Result of the dice: 6 + 4 = 10
You landed on Bilge Pumps


And the new round:

Result of the dice: 5 + 3 = 8
You landed on Chance (East) and got card No. 7
You are too busy noting an aurora borealis event,and bump into an iceberg.Advance to Ship's Refit and pay 100$.If you pass GO do not collect 200 $.
You are on Ship's Refit at the end of your turn


Meh.

Hanibal94

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4333
  • Better to do it, than live with the fear of it.
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #40 on: November 25, 2015, 05:06:36 pm »
Oh wait - actually, you already took your turn for what would be this round, so the trip to Intrepid is invalid.
Sorry!

Hanibal94

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4333
  • Better to do it, than live with the fear of it.
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #41 on: November 25, 2015, 06:02:19 pm »
OK, so you shouldn't have done the second turn in this post:

3+5... San Fernando, Hanibal gets M

and a new round
5+4... Hong Kong, Hanibal gets M

Joan started a new round and took her turn - see her post, the previous one.
Then you took your turn - but you also took a second one!
But I didn't realize the second was illegal until I had entered the details - so I've decided to make it your turn for THIS round, and therefore you don't end up on the Intrepid. Since I have taken my turn for this round, we're now waiting for Joan.
Please pay more attention - there's a reason I post the time of last update on the main page.

AvastMH

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7048
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #42 on: November 25, 2015, 08:24:13 pm »
You are severe Mr Banker! We shall all quake in our shoes  ;) ;) ;D

Right - stand from under - where's my rng?  aha! Get the lock off, wind the elastic band up - and OFF she goes...ddddddrrrrrrrrrrrr - PING!! 3+2 oh where am I? Back in a mo... oh I'd forgotten - how could I?? Grrr - anyway moving on past 'GO' I'm now on Galipoli and I'd like to buy that please.  :D
« Last Edit: November 25, 2015, 08:26:10 pm by AvastMH »

Hanibal94

  • Shipherd
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4333
  • Better to do it, than live with the fear of it.
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #43 on: November 25, 2015, 09:59:11 pm »
You are severe Mr Banker! We shall all quake in our shoes  ;) ;) ;D

Well, I gotta keep you in line. Break the rules and you get BOOM BOOM BOOM!!!
Anyways, it is a new round - for real this time! - so I go.

Result of the dice: 6 + 3 = 9
Player went around Go!
You landed on Chance (South) and got card No. 2
Your ship has to be pulled off a mud bar.Pay 15 $ to each player and miss a turn.
You are on Chance (South) at the end of your turn


I hate mud.

AvastMH

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7048
    • View Profile
Re: Shipopoly
« Reply #44 on: November 25, 2015, 10:33:57 pm »
 ;D ;D ;D

The song of the Nile Hippopotamus:
' Mud! Mud! Glorious Mud!
Nothing quite like it for cooling the blood,
so follow me, follow,
right down to the hollow,
and there we shall wallow,
in gloooooooorious mud!'

Flanders and Swann