Author Topic: Moving Welsh Steam Coal from Cardiff to the world in the 19'th century  (Read 118 times)

Randi

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
From jantac:

I'm a Masters student at Swansea, my dissertation is on the logistics of moving Welsh Steam Coal from Cardiff (& Swansea & Newport) to the world in the 19 Century, given that it was mainly moved by sailing vessels (early steam ships would burn their cargo trying to deliver it!). How do you make sure that Valparaiso, Royal Navy's Pacific base, always has enough coal for its steam warships to 'rule the waves' & the merchant navy's steamship can trade to India and beyond?

I have lots of questions arising from the shipping data that I have that folk out there may be able to offer an opinion, or even an answer.

If you haven't already guessed, I'm new to this chatroom stuff.

Since Cardiff was mainly for exporting coal with minimal importing, most vessels, sail of steam, arrived in ballast (otherwise the lightweight vessels would bob about and be unsteerable). The ballast would have to be emptied before loading coal could begin. What was typically used as ballast? Was the ballast saleable? Or did the vessel have to pay to get rid of it? The first of many, many questions.

dorbel

• Editor
    • View Profile
Re: Moving Welsh Steam Coal from Cardiff to the world in the 19'th century
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2017, 06:34:28 pm »